Connect with us


AIMIM Wins Old Malakpet Ward

26. Old Malakpet (ఓల్డ్ మలక్‌పేట) is a ward in the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) (హైదరాబాదు మహానగరపాలక సంస్థ). The reservation status for this ward is Backward Class (Women). There are a total of 54,502 eligible voters in this ward of which 27,811 are male, 26,688 female and 3 are of the third gender.

There are 69 polling stations in this ward. Old Malakpet is part of Malakpet (మలక్‌పేట) circle and Charminar (చార్మినార్) zone of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation.

Juweria Fatima of AIMIM won from Old Malakpet in the 2016 GHMC elections. The average voter turnout in the 2020 elections in all of Greater Hyderabad was 46.60% percent and the turnout in Old Malakpet was 0 %.

There are 6 candidates in the fray from this ward in the 2020 GHMC polls: Kanakaboina Renuka (Bharatiya Janata Party – BJP), Dr Juweria Fatima (All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen – AIMIM), Mrs Pagilla Shalini (Telangana Rashtra Samithi – TRS), Mrs Firdous Fatima (Communist Party of India – CPI), Bugudala Veeramani (Indian National Congress – INC), Mogudala Kavitha (Independent – IND).

A total of 149/150 wards of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (హైదరాబాదు మహానగరపాలక సంస్థ) (GHMC) across 6 zones and 30 circles went to the polls on December 1, 2020. In one ward repolling was held on December 3. The counting of votes for the GHMC elections 2020 are being held on December 4, 2020. A total of 1,122 candidates are in the fray for the post of 150 corporators of which 582 are male and 540 female. The average age of contesting candidates is about 41 years.

The last GHMC elections were held in 2016 in which TRS won 99 wards, AIMIM 44, BJP 4, TDP 1 and INC won 2 seats.

A total of 74 lakh voters were eligible to vote in these elections of which 38.5 lakh were male and 35.5 lakh were female. There were 669 voters of the third gender.

Click here for detailed ward-wise live results and list of candidates for the 2020 Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation elections.

Click here for a single-page overview of the GHMC 2020 election results.

Source link